Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda // A Brilliant Coming-of-Age Story

I’m late to the bandwagon on this one. This book is being made into a movie while I was still fumbling around with the first 20 pages. Nevertheless, Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli is quirky, down-to-earth and I found myself smiling the whole time I was reading it. My cheeks hurt, yo. I’m warm and fuzzy from Simon and Blue, and my face is hurting and it is beautiful. This book is a-freaking-dorable and it is a must-read for all YA fans.

Here is why I fell in love with this adorable book.

Simon is sooooo lovable.

What is brilliant about Simon is while he had moments of teen angst, they weren’t bogged down or too intense. In fact, he is a light and jovial character who loves hugs, bad jokes and Harry Potter. Like Albertalli’s newer novel, the protagonist is realistic and lovable. He’s also an overthinker and so relatable. Plus he loves Oreos (and who doesn’t love Oreos?)

Epic friendships everywhere!

Simon has a real tight-knit group of friends: the ones from his childhood Nick and Leah, as well as a new bubbly addition, Abby. They have their moments of tension and arguments, but not every friendship is smooth sailing. The book also showcases these platonic friendships and yes, girls and guys can be friends without having romantic feelings for each other. Simon is supportive of his friends, and loves them for who they are.

I also liked Simon’s siblings, Alice and Nora, and how close they are as siblings. The fact there were healthy and loving relationships in his home life with his parents and siblings added a dynamic to the story that was heartwarming (and a family that watches reality TV together stays together).

The coming-of-age elements were excellent.

Here we have a protagonist who is gay and not portrayed as flamboyant or any other stereotype. He is portrayed as he is: a funny, lowkey popular kid with great friends and an online romance slowly blooming. I liked how we get to know Simon as himself, not who he sexually prefers. The commentary about identity, diversity and sexuality were well said and suited the story, and it added a maturity to Simon (and Blue) that I felt like it needed.

I died over how cute the romance was.

I totally understand online friendships. One of my best friends is from America and while we didn’t reveal our identities for a while, we’re going on nearly 8 (or 9?) years of friendship without having met IRL. So when Simon was in the midst of emailing a cute wordsmith who goes to his school but won’t reveal his identity, yo, I get it. It did annoy me a couple of times when things were tense over their identities, but despite that I loved the email format of the relationship and Blue’s grammatical prowess. The flirting is killer cute and the way Simon and Blue slowly opened up to each other was just beautiful.

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda is filled with great helpings of humour, realistic and wonderful characters, a powerful love for Oreos and understanding what it is like to be yourself.

Rating

 

the literary casanova flowerthe literary casanova flowerthe literary casanova flowerthe literary casanova flowerthe literary casanova flower

 

What are your thoughts?

Have you read Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda? Do you have a healthy obsession with Oreos? Have you read books with a gay protagonist and found it realistic? Leave a comment down below with your thoughts.

 

19547856Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

{Goodreads}

2 thoughts on “Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda // A Brilliant Coming-of-Age Story

  1. I just recently read this book myself and completely agree with everything you said! I can’t believe I waited so long to read it! 😂 I’m hoping to pick up a copy of Upside soon, after reading Simon my expectations are fairly high to say the least! ❤️

    Like

  2. Ahhh I’m glad to hear you enjoyed this one! I didn’t *love* it, though that’s largely because contemporary is very rarely a massive hit for me. But I agree with you about the amazing friendships! I loved reading about them 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

