May 2017 Wrap Up aka The Month I Didn’t Read

Who would have thought 31 days could go by so quickly? It only feels like a few days ago when the nip in the air started and the leaves slowly wilted into the warm colours of autumn. It also only feel like yesterday when I told myself I’d read 7 books in May. Or was that April? I can barely keep count.

Out of all the books I told myself I’d read, I read a total of 4 books. I READ 4 BOOKS! What is happening to me? Have I lost my mojo? Has uni sucked the life out of my reading?

giphy3

Before I panic, let’s jump right into the 4 books I did read this May, which were a blessing to read.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo: 5/5

giphy5

This has to be one of the best books I’ve read in 2017. Not only was it based in a universe I’ve grown to love, but it’s an intense heist story featuring six characters I want to hug forever. I loved the steampunk vibes and the diversity of characters as well.  Every page was fantastic and I can’t wait to read Crooked Kingdom. My full review for Six of Crows is here.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon: 4.5/5

giphy

This book as a-freaking-dorable. Dimple and Rishi are Indian-Americans who both attend Insomnia Con and are subtly set up by their parents in an arranged marriage. The results are hilarious and we’re taken on a swoonworthy romance that had me laughing and crying. It’s a treasure of a book. My full review is here.

Heart of Mist by Helen Scheuerer: 5/5

giphy7

I was blessed enough to be asked by Helen to read an ARC of her debut novel and I am so glad I did. It is amazing! I am a sucker for fantasy and I feel like I’ve found a new favourite. Heart of Mist is a brilliant YA fantasy featuring multiple character perspectives that take you on a journey across the world. Weaving magic, politics and mystery like a master of her craft, Heart of Mist is a standout debut novel. I can’t wait for the second book!

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli: 5/5

giphy8

This book made my heart hurt with joy. This is one of the cutest contemporary YA novels I’ve read so far. Extremely diverse and geeky, it accurately represents what it’s like to be seventeen and afraid of the world, but also the excitement in growing up and being confident. The romantic elements were so cute and I loved the emphasis on family. My full review is here.

And that’s it for May! My TBR for June is currently consists of:

  • The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson
  • The Secret Science of Magic by Melissa Keil
  • Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

I do have some more I want to read for Pride Month, but I don’t quite have them yet. Stay tuned on my bookstagram @vintage.book.queen.

What books did you read in May?

Let me know in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

