Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury

Full disclosure: this is probably one of Sarah J. Maas’ best works to date. I honestly feel like she gets better and better with each novel she brings out.

PSA: There will be spoilers in the full review for both A Court of Thorns and Roses and this book. Now, A Court of Mist and Fury… where do I even begin? It is a long and compelling narrative that will leave you breathless yet satisfied. As the second installment to A Court of Thorns and Roses and almost double its size, there were many good things about this book with only a couple of itty bitty gripes I had with some of the plot.

Synopsis

image1

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

(Book Depository; Goodreads)

Review

I have too many feelings over this book. For a sequel, this was a million times better than the first novel. I hooked from the very beginning unlike ACOTAR where it took me a while to really get into it. Sarah’s writing is so addictive, her skill with words impeccable. There was more character development across the board, more badass Fae drama and more political intrigue as we travel beyond the Spring Court to the other sides of Prythian. This book does a great job at setting the stage for bigger things that are to happen in Prythian; things involving the King of Hybern, the Night Court and the supernatural forces of the Cauldron that created the world. Swoon-worthy, heart-breaking, and packed with action (in various ways), I loved this book! Someone give me a teleportation devise cause I wanna hijack it and winnow to the Night Court. PLEASE.   

Plot

Let me just take a moment to breathe and remember that this is a book and not real life. Things are heating up in Prythian with politics, world domination, Fae lore, and evil asf kings, winnowing us to the Summer Court and more impressively, the Night Court, a place that has been painted as dark and evil. The shadows and characters that Tamlin’s pretty Spring Court had kept hidden from us are now in full view, slowly peeling away the layers of Prythian to reveal a deeply unsettling truth about the Fae courts and their rulers. While I didn’t like how Feyre suddenly became the answer for every single issue happening in the Fae world, it was an entertaining read and I simply couldn’t put it down.

Also, in a classic Sarah J. Maas fashion, the Tamlin we all grew to love is suddenly the villain. And guess who becomes our next sugar daddy? Rhysand. And while I was put off by it after the impression we got from Rhysand was somewhat unpleasant yet strangely atrractive),  I’m now totally OKAY WITH IT! All aboard the Rhysand train, friends!  

I liked how fleshed out the plot was in this installment – there was just so much more we could sink our teeth into unlike ACOTAR where we were rather secluded to one area of the world. I loved the intricate character development, especially with Feyre and Rhysand as we grow with their new budding friendship and relationship. It was satisfying and brilliant, totally worth the 600 odd pages.

Characters

“There are good days and hard days for me—even now. Don’t let the hard days win.”

Can we just talk about my baby girl Feyre for a moment? The trials she endured in ACOTAR have ramifications in this installment and it shows that despite being immortal, she is still human. She’s in pain, guilt ridden and continues to be haunted by the horrors she had to face – something Tamlin turns a blind eye to. I loved how Sarah didn’t hide the fact that Feyre was struggling to function day to day, especially when Feyre couldn’t find her old passion of painting. She validated her issues and that was important. Feyre’s strength shines through as she comes to terms with her actions and her new immortality, but she does relapse. She isn’t always strong and that’s okay.

Also, her powers! With a piece of each court in her body, she’s able to harness abilities across a wide spectrum. *insert proud Rhysand*

“The issue isn’t whether he loved you, it’s how much. Too much. Love can be a poison.”

With Tamlin, it’s not often we see what happens after the fairytale ending so his change came as a shock to me. The sauve and mysterious boy toy we were in love with is suddenly twisted and he’s the bad guy. He neglects Feyre, refuses to let her leave the Spring Court and throughout the whole wedding preparations (and the wedding itself), he doesn’t seem to give a damn about how Feyre feels. The possessiveness that a lot of us ladies like to see in men is warped in a way for us to see that it’s not healthy – his version of love is not right. It was hard to have their relationship written off as a mistake after what happened in ACOTAR (I mean, Feyre absolutely destroyed herself for him), but it sort of makes sense. I re-read ACOTAR after this and realised that the signs were there, just subtle ones so we wouldn’t pick up on it so easily. And the shit he pulls at the end of this book, I mean…  I’m completely on board the Tamlin the Tool ship.

“You are my salvation, Feyre.”

*insert excited squeal* I’m admitting this now: I’m Rhysand trash. Complete and utter trash for this Fae. His character unfolds so wonderfully in this novel as the Rhysand we had met in the first book turns out to be completely different. While this a cliche and it almost annoyed me to no end that Sarah decided to throw Tamlin under the bus and replace him with this ass, I’m happy she did. The way he supports and protects Feyre when she needed someone during a time where she felt worthless really put him in my good books. And don’t even get me started on the wedding scene when he casually gate crashes the ceremony and steals Feyre with that charisma we’ve grown to love. Oh, and chapter 55.

I like that we got to see different layers of Rhysand and the secrets he’s been keeping in order to protect his Inner Circle and his people. I also loved the dialogue between him and his Inner Circle and Feyre – so much sass and innuendo.

Also, the Inner Circle are so precious to me. I just love how they interact and the close bonds they share. I never want anything bad to happen to them. I love them so much and can’t wait to see what they do in the next installment.

Writing

Sarah’s writing has improved drastically from the first novel. Like I said before, Sarah grows with every novel she comes out with. It’s amazing to see how rich and wonderful her story weaving is becoming, how deep and dimensional her characters are becoming. I also love how she makes the effort to have strong female leads, but not without their flaws. Oh and uh, why is this book targeted in the children’s section? It has some very mature scenes and it shouldn’t be anywhere near children.

Rating

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

I feel I’m giving 5 stars to all the books I’ve been reviewing, but I haven’t come across anything I have disliked yet. What did you guys think of this sequel? Are you as keen as I am for A Court of Wings and Ruin?

Until next time!

Stay golden.

One thought on “Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury

Leave a Reply

